Home > Apologetics, Christianity, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Philosophy, Quotations > Rene Descartes on the Dependency of Man and the Independency of God

Rene Descartes on the Dependency of Man and the Independency of God

And when I take note of the fact that I doubt, or that I am a thing that is incomplete and dependent, there comes to mind a clear and distinct idea of a being that is independent and complete, that is, an idea of God. And from the mere fact that such an idea is in me, or that I who have this idea exist, I draw the obvious conclusion that God also exists, and that my existence depends entirely upon him at each and every moment. This conclusion is so obvious that I am confident that the human mind can know nothing more evident or more certain.

Rene Descartes, Meditations on First Philosophy

What do you think?

